Two years ago

The hubs and I agreed with the contract to move to Saudi Arabia. We were excited and nervous. Having two kids, uprooting them to a country completely so far from home we had to research and explore this mystery sand mine. But oh what an adventure it would be. 

Then I got pregnant. Something so unexpected and so far from my thoughts I didn’t think it would happen. But it did. I was scared shitless but planned ahead for our future. After all, a baby is a welcomed surprise or so I thought. 

Prematurity has a way of kicking you in the ass when you don’t know anything thing about it. As the Mr. left for Saudi my water broke and one week later my precious angel, my miracle, my 28 week preemie was born. The hospital stay was 100 long days of just me being there. My two kids were with the in-laws. I was back and forth from the hospital to the hotel. Each time, each day she grew stronger and stronger. It was me that was weak. I was alone and petrified. FaceTime dates were nice with the Mr. but still not the same. It was such a huge change to be apart of. I knew nothing about the NICU or any machine that made beeps. All I knew was this perfect baby was mine and I was her mother. I had to be there each day to watch her grow. That was my job for three and a half months. 

Leave a Reply

